Mommy Nurse

Back in 2009, I received my diploma in Bachelors of Science in Nursing. I was one of those who got freed from sleepless nights due to manifold of reasons. That didn’t end there, we have another verdict to face–the BOARD EXAM. Finally, a few months after taking the examination, the result was publicized. All my hard work bore its second fruit, a PRC license that says, “Registered Nurse”. Wohooo! My name will now be longer by two letters! đŸ™‚

Along with me were thousands of other new registered nurses and we’re ready to add up to the existing number of nurses–employed, unemployed and underemployed. Now, after four years, I wonder where and how their career are doing. These are the three possible things I can think of:

A. They’ve found their place in the greener pasture and may already have the titles USRN, AURN, CRN, after their names.

B. Currently staying in the Philippines and are humble enough to accept their remuneration. (some will stay here but some will eventually leave in search of better remuneration)

C. Currently employed but not as a nurse. Probably a call center agent, medical representative, ESL teacher, etc.

I’ve been to both B and C, but my biggest dream is to get to A, for better compensation, perhaps. Now, that I have my little one, I find it difficult and heartbreaking to leave. The thought of not being able to hug my family, be with them on special events, missing my baby’s first words, steps, birthday and other important things really bring me to tears. Yes, more money definitely means a more comfortable life, but am I really to sacrifice the best things in life?

At this very moment, I want to say thank you to our Heavenly Father for giving my family the gift of abundance straight from our home. I am so blessed to be able to work from home and watch after my C at the same time. I may not have been able to practice my profession for a long time, but I am really grateful that God brought me to where I am right now.

A long road is ahead of us. There will be people and circumstances that will make our journey smooth flowing and some that will make it treacherous. Whenever these thoughts come into my mind, I pray to God to keep my family strong and together, no matter what we have to go through.

In the long run, I realized that I didn’t just throw my profession away. The hard work I exerted for four long years and the knowledge I gained didn’t become stagnant. Everything I know, everything I learned, I practice it by applying it to C and the rest of the family and this what makes me a Mommy Nurse.

How about you? Are you also a Mommy Nurse? What profession do you have? Did you have to give it up or did you choose to pursue your dreams? I want to hear and be inspired by you.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mia Y. Marchadesch- Jaranilla
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 02:18:09

    Wow, you are a hero in anyone’s eyes — Mommy and a nurse at that? You are s superwoman to me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

